SHOULD MASJID BE LOCKED?

University of Lagos Mosque

University of Lagos Mosque

Asallam Alaykum everyone !

I know most of us would have heard of what happened at University of Lagos Mosque on friday, where student boycotted the mosque to pray in front of the mosque. Why? Because the mosque was locked all through the week and it was opened for jumu’ah only !

When I did my research, I found out that the mosque committee locked the mosque because they found out that the mosque was always bedraggled and begrimed.

But Is that a tangible reason to deprive people to say there salah inside the mosque?

I have realised that mosque/masjid are locked nowadays and people are not allowed to pray or do ibadah in the mosque.

Its so disheartening that if you miss the salah in congregation, my brother and sister am sorry for you, You would have to go back home to do salah or wait for the next prayer, as the mosque would have been locked.

I know some mosques have been locked because the Holy Quran, wall clocks, Books and so many other tangible things have been stolen in the mosque, and sometimes strangers (who are not even muslims) are seen sleeping and messing around the mosque.

I totally understand why mosques needs to be locked sometimes, but Are we not overstepping the bounds? Are we not making things a little bit difficult for our our youths, reverts and every other potential muslim out there? Are we not gradually driving islam away from our society?

The importance of mosques and Masjid in our society should not be underestimated as mosques are places of prayer, worship, to build a stronger bond in the Ummah, to teach, to learn, to do dawah etc.

How would we do all this when everyone leaves immediately after each solat? How would we teach and learn about our Deen, if mosques are locked immediately after solat? Even tired travellers should be allowed to stay at the mosque.

I think our mosques should employ a security detail or youths can volunteer or take turn to look after the mosque for unwanted guests et al. We need security detail like the FBI lol at d gate or the door not a padlock !

I want to know what you all think, should mosques/masjid be kept under lock and key? Pls you all should contribute, I think its high time we make this discussion alive in the public Forum.

Fi Amanillah Wasallam. Xx

6 thoughts on “SHOULD MASJID BE LOCKED?

  1. I understnd dt tins get stolen in d mosque buh its is not enuff reason to lock a masjid imagine a stranger comes to town nd quickly wnts to pray salah, nd d mosque is closed, to me its like depriving him or her from prying his salah in d house of God, I had one experience in which I had to pray my salah in govt house buh d mosque dere was locked with d escuse of security reasons nd d mosque is only open on Friday, d next available mosque was too far so I had to wait till I got home making me delay salah…..its not rilli nice sha, adequate security should b made for masjids let evryone gain from the reward of praying in the house of Allah.

  2. The mosque ordinarily should not be locked but in this case I can’t really blame the Muslim Community. You should have seen the mosque before the rehabilitation, it was such an eyesore. Students really misused the place but locking it will do more harm than good. For one, it will discourage people who have only started practicing from associating with other Muslims. The mosque used to be a meeting point and now that there is no place to converge, its every man for himself. I really hope its opened soon though and students should try to keep the mosque neat.

Leave a comment